You are here

Agenda and minutes

Venue: Islington Town Hall

No. Item


Agenda and reports for the Haringey and Islington Health and Wellbeing Boards Joint Sub- Committee pdf icon PDF 3 MB


MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE Haringey and Islington Health and Wellbeing Boards Joint Sub-Committee HELD ON MONDAY 9 October 2017 AT 2.00 pm.




Cllr Richard Watts, Leader of the Council, LB Islington [Chair]

Cllr Claire Kober, Leader of the Council, LB Haringey [Vice-Chair]

Cllr Janet Burgess, Executive Member for Health and Social Care, LB Islington

Cllr Joe Caluori, Executive Member for Children, Schools and Families, LB Islington

Tony Hoolaghan, Chief Operating Officer, Haringey and Islington Clinical Commissioning Groups

Dr Jo Sauvage, Chair, Islington Clinical Commissioning Group

Dr Peter Christian, Chair, Haringey Clinical Commissioning Group

Sorrel Brookes, Lay Vice-Chair, Islington Clinical Commissioning Group

Emma Whitby, Chief Executive, Healthwatch Islington

Sharon Grant, Chair, Healthwatch Haringey

Julie Billett, Director of Public Health, LB Islington

Sean McLaughlin, Corporate Director of Housing and Adult Social Services, LB Islington

Tracie Evans, Interim Deputy Chief Executive, LB Haringey

Jeanelle De Gruchy, Director of Public Health, LB Haringey

Beverley Tarka, Director of Adult Social Care, LB Haringey

Margaret Dennison, Interim Director of Children’s Services, LB Haringey




Helen Taylor, Clinical Director and Deputy Director of Strategy, Whittington Hospital

Rachel Lissauer, Director of the Haringey and Islington Wellbeing Partnership

Zina Etheridge, Interim Chief Executive, LB Haringey



15                 Filming at meetings (Item 1)


Councillor Watts referred to information on the agenda and members noted the guidance in respect of filming at meetings.



16                 Welcome and Introductions (Item 2)


Councillors Watts and Kober welcomed everyone to the meeting and the members of the Sub-Committee introduced themselves.



17                 Apologies for Absence (Item 3)


Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Weston, Councillor Arthur, Dr Katie Coleman, Carmel Littleton, Angela McNab, Cathy Herman, Geraldine Gavin, Geoffrey Ocen and Siobhan Harrington (representative: Helen Taylor, Clinical Director and Deputy Director of Strategy, Whittington Hospital).



18                 Notification of Urgent Business (Item 4)


There were no items of urgent business to consider.


19                 Declarations of Interest (Item 5)


Dr Jo Sauvage declared a personal interest as a GP provider in Islington. 



20                 Minutes of the Previous Meeting (Item 6)




That the minutes of the previous meeting held on 19 June 2017 be agreed and the Chair be authorised to sign them.



21                 Questions and Deputations (Item 7)


No questions or deputations were received.



22                 Joint Work on Obesity (Item 8)


Julie Billett and Jeanelle De Gruchy introduced the report and presented on a cross-borough approach to tackling obesity. It was proposed that the Joint Sub-Committee agree to six pledges to improve healthy food choices in Islington and Haringey, and that Islington and Haringey Councils sign up to the Local Government Declaration on Sugar Reduction and Healthier Food.


The following main points were noted in the discussion:


  • It was queried if the removal of sugar sweetened soft drinks could have unintended consequences, for example an increase in the sale of sugar-rich fruit juices and unhealthy ‘zero calorie’ beverages. In  ...  view the full minutes text for item 15.


Additional Despatch pdf icon PDF 1 MB